January 8, 2013

teachers make the worst students

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:35 pm by whatsupwiththat

I started an on-line course to get a certificate to be able to teach English as a second language to adults.  I haven’t taken an on-line course before, except for the traffic class for my last speeding ticket which I hardly think counts after having attempted this class.  The last time I took an actual class in real life (everyone knows the Internet isn’t real-life) was 12 years ago when I finished my master’s degree.  I noticed then that the teachers that made up my class, while being a very nice group of women, were not the best students.  Don’t get me wrong, everyone was smart and well-read, but there was a lot of complaining and nit picking and by the end of the 2 year program some down right rudeness going on during class.  I had attempted a master’s program before this one that after the first meeting I dropped out of because of the attitude of most of the ‘students’ that the professor we had was ill prepared and after having only listened to the man for 2 hours they were already planning a mutiny and starting a petition to have him removed. 

But back to my on-line adventure.  I should have known there were going to be problems when I was being threatened with disconnection when I was taking too long taking notes.  I opted not to take my 16 year old son’s advise to cut and paste the important info into a word document and print it out for notes.  while that seems like a good idea, I am old school and need the process of writing my own notes to help process the info.  I felt pretty good when I got a 95 on my first lesson review (all mult. choice and t/f) but then I got a 78.3 on the next.  The first essay answer I attempted was not up to par and I had an idea I hadn’t given a detailed enough answer so I tried a little harder on the next essay answer and got 90 out of 100 points for it.  That’s better!  The project assignment was a piece of cake…or so I thought.  I used to teach how to use I statements to my 6th graders in conflict resolution.  I got a little creative and changed the four offensive you statements to responsible I-statements and got a 30%.  What?  I had to ask for clarification as to what I did wrong and the iota of feedback I got back from my ‘teacher’ was an example with no creativity whatsoever.  So I rewrote the statements and regurgitated them back as blandly as they were first written and I am awaiting my new score.  I have a quiz up as my next assignment and I am not looking forward to it.

If anyone out there has on-line course experience and can offer me some words of wisdom, I would very much appreciate it.

PSA of the day *stay in school*

(being out for too long makes it a bitch to get back in the swing of it)

Leave a Reply

