December 16, 2011

Best Christmas Present Ever

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:04 pm by whatsupwiththat

I want to put this out there before I procrastinate it, feel the need to not post until it is perfect, or just plain talk myself out of it. I am reading a book about Women, Food and God (only God is more about spirituality than it is whatever form you believe him/her to be. Anyway food issues are big in my life. I eat for many wrong reasons and rarely use food as just noursihment. And I am only half way thorough this book but the idea I am so excited about and want everyone to share in is that by being present in the moment the mindless eating can stop. There is a lot more to it than that and I am having a hard time even staying present enough in the here and now when I am reading the book to fully grasp all of it. My theory about that is I am subconciously fighting the ideas presented. I am still not convinced I can be successful. But back to the best christmas present I can give myself; it is the idea that by concentrating on being in the moment, feeling the feelings, wading through the day to day boredom of just exsisting I can see food for what it really is. Nourishment, plain and simple and each time I don’t give in to the urge to eat mindlessly I am celebrating being me, not hiding from it.
This probably doesn’t make a lot of sense. But I wanted to put it out there, maybe it is just the present you need to give yourself this year.

PSA of the day ~ Give yourself the present of being present.

Leave a Reply

